Follow

IFD and YAG Collaboration

Whether users have built content from scratch (as a designated Content Creator or Admin), or created customized versions of TCMPC or district-created IFDs and YAGs, they can share these items with other members of the district through the My Content page. Note that the district has the ability to control whether the collaboration feature is accessible to its users or not.

Please be aware that collaborating with other users allows all members of the group to equally share the editing privileges of a content item. It is possible to accidentally overwrite other members' edits to a content item, and if one member deletes the item it will be deleted for all other group members. Therefore, communication among the collaboration group is strongly encouraged.

SITE ACCESS: Tools > My Content > My Plans, My IFDs, or My YAGs

VIDEO TUTORIALS:

1.) Access the Collaboration Feature

2.) Add a New Collaboration Group

3.) Edit an Existing Collaboration Group

4.) Assign a Collaboration Group to an IFD, YAG, or Lesson Plan

 

Click on the Tools drop-down in the site’s main navigation menu, and select the My Content option.

opened tools navigation menu with an arrow pointing to the my content option

 

My Plans is the default landing page for the My Content section. To select a different option, click My IFDs or My YAGs

my content navigation menu bar with an outline around my instructional focus documents and my yags buttons, respectively

 

On each of these pages, your existing customized content will be displayed in the search results table. Use the search filters to locate the desired content item that you would like to collaborate on.

a sample yag in the content results list

Click the Options button associated with the desired content and select Collaborate

the expanded options menu with an arrow pointing to the collaborate option

 

CREATING A NEW COLLABORATION GROUP

To create a brand new collaboration group, click the New Group button.

collaborate window with an arrow pointing to the new group button in the bottom left corner

 

Enter a name for the new group in the appropriate box.

collaborate window showing the add new group section with an arrow pointing to the name text entry field

 

Search for fellow users to add as members of the collaboration group. Either type a user's name into the search field to narrow the results, or scroll through the auto-populated list of all possible users. You may add as many individuals as you wish, and you may include any users from across the entire district.

collaborate window showing the add new group section with an arrow pointing to the colleague selection drop down menu

 

Click the Save button to lock in the new collaboration group. Or, click the Close button to discard the changes.

collaborate window showing the add new group section with an arrow pointing to the save button at the bottom

 

After saving, all members of the selected group will receive a system-generated email notifying them that they have been added to the group.

a sample system generated email containing a message notifying a user about being added to a collaboration group

 

ASSIGNING A COLLABORATION GROUP

If you have previously created a collaboration group, you may assign an existing one to this particular content item by clicking the Select Group drop-down menu and making your selection.

collaborate window with an outline around the expanded select group drop down menu and an arrow pointing to a sample group option

 

After selecting a group to collaborate with, click the Save Selection button to share editing rights for the content item. Alternatively, click the Close Window button to discard the proposed changes.

collaborate window with an arrow pointing to the save selection button in the upper right corner

 

After saving, all members of the selected group will receive a system-generated email notifying them that they have been invited to collaborate on the given content item. Group members may each locate the content item on the appropriate page of the My Content section, or use the direct link to the content item that is provided in the email. 

a sample system generated email containing a message notifying a user about being invited to collaboration on a specific piece of content

 

Any existing content items that are being collaborated on will have the Shared Items (Collaboration) icon displayed next to the item title in the results list.

a sample yag in the content results list with outlines around the collaboration icon and its associated key, respectively

 

EDITING AN EXISTING COLLABORATION GROUP

To edit an existing collaboration group, select the desired group from the drop-down menu and click the Edit Group button. You may then change the name of group, add new group members, or remove existing group members (by clicking the X associated with the individual's name). Please be aware that removing any existing members from a collaboration group will terminate their access to all content items that were shared with the group (not just this one content item).

collaborate window with an outline around the edit group button and an arrow pointing to the related edit group fields

 

Click the Save button to lock in the changes you have made to the collaboration group. Or, click the Close button to discard the changes.

collaborate window showing the edit group section with an arrow pointing to the save button at the bottom

 

After saving, any new group members that were added will receive a system-generated email notifying them that they have been added to the group and now have access to all content items that the group has collaborated on in the past. This email is identical to the one that all group members receive when a group is first created (see "New Group" steps above). 

 

To delete an existing collaboration group, click the Delete Group button. Please be aware that deleting  a group will terminate the members' access to all content items that were shared by the group (not just this one content item).

the top portion of the collaborate window with an arrow pointing to the delete group button

 

Please note:

  • Changes made by any of the collaborators will be saved, and changes will be reflected for all members of the group upon subsequent edits to the plan. 
  • Any of the members of the group can edit group members (add, remove, etc.) or delete the group. 
  • Upon preview/print, the names of all collaborators will appear at the top of the plan.
  • If one group member deletes the plan, it will be deleted for all group members.
  • If the plan is marked as Ready for Review by one of the group’s collaborators, it will be marked as Ready for Review for all collaborators and then reviewed by a Principal. Any comments added by a Principal through the Principal Center will be visible to all members of the collaborative group.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk